Parking is not usually the part of a Lake Tahoe ski day that people look forward to. You may leave before sunrise, drive through falling snow, and still arrive to a full lot or a sign telling you that reservations are required.
Fortunately, most parking headaches are avoidable. You just need to know the rules for the resort you are visiting before you set out. Palisades Tahoe and Sierra-at-Tahoe have published detailed 2026-27 reservation calendars. Northstar has announced that reservations begin December 12, 2026, while Heavenly says reservations are no longer needed for the new season.
The other Tahoe resorts take a simpler approach, with free first-come, first-served parking and optional paid spaces in some locations. Here is how parking works at the major Lake Tahoe ski resorts, along with a few ways to leave your car behind altogether.
Quick Answer: Palisades Tahoe and Sierra-at-Tahoe require parking reservations on designated busy dates, while Northstar will require reservations starting December 12, 2026. Heavenly does not require reservations for 2026-27, and Sugar Bowl, Mt. Rose, and Diamond Peak generally offer free parking with optional paid upgrades.
Which Lake Tahoe Ski Resorts Require Parking Reservations?
Palisades Tahoe requires a reservation before 1 p.m. on listed weekends and holiday periods beginning December 5, 2026. Free reservations are released every Tuesday at noon and 7 p.m. Limited paid reservations cost $30 per car per day. After 1 p.m., parking is free without a reservation when space is available.
Sierra-at-Tahoe requires reservations from 7 a.m. to noon on listed busy dates. General reservations cost $25 per day, although eligible Sierra passholders and vehicles with four or more occupants can qualify for free reservations.
Northstar has announced that RESERVE ‘N SKI reservations will be required beginning December 12, 2026. The resort has not yet posted all of the lot, fee, and timing details for the new season.
Heavenly says parking reservations are no longer needed for 2026-27. Sugar Bowl, Mt. Rose, and Diamond Peak do not state a general reservation requirement, although Sugar Bowl and Diamond Peak offer optional paid parking in certain areas.
Lake Tahoe Ski Resort Parking Guide for 2026-27
| Resort | Reservation required? | Free parking option | Paid parking option | Free-after time or cutoff | Official information |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Palisades Tahoe | Yes, before 1 p.m. on listed weekends and holiday periods | Most reservation-required spaces are free with a reservation. Non-holiday weekday parking is free without one. | Limited advance reservations cost $30 per car per day | Free without a reservation after 1 p.m. on listed dates, subject to space | Park Palisades Tahoe FAQ |
| Northstar California | Reservations begin December 12, 2026. Full details are still to come | 2026-27 free lots and eligibility have not been posted | 2026-27 paid-lot fees have not been posted | Not stated for 2026-27 | Park Northstar |
| Heavenly | No, according to the 2026-27 parking statement | Current lot-by-lot winter details are not fully stated | 2026-27 paid-lot details are not stated | Not stated for 2026-27 | Heavenly parking information |
| Kirkwood | Yes, on weekends and peak periods | Full 2026-27 free-lot details are not stated | 2026-27 fees are not stated | Prior official pages give different cutoff times | Kirkwood |
| Sierra-at-Tahoe | Yes, from 7 a.m. to noon on listed dates | Free reservations for eligible Sierra passholders and qualifying carpool vehicles | $25 per day for general reservations | Free without a reservation after noon, subject to availability | Sierra parking |
| Sugar Bowl | No general reservation required | Main Lodge lots are free and first-come, first-served | Optional Upper Lot parking is $35 on weekends and holiday periods | Not stated | Sugar Bowl directions and parking |
| Mt. Rose | No reservation requirement is stated | The current snow report says parking is always free | No paid option is stated | Not applicable | Mt. Rose snow report |
| Diamond Peak | No general reservation required | General parking is free | Optional preferred parking is listed at $30 on weekends and $35 during peak periods | Not stated. Noon is the hold cutoff for an unclaimed reserved space | Diamond Peak parking |
Parking rules can be updated as the season gets closer. If a resort has not yet posted a 2026-27 fee or cutoff time, check its parking page again before your trip rather than relying on last year’s information.
Photo by Vanka5, via Wikimedia Commons. Public domain.
How Does Palisades Tahoe Parking Work?
Palisades Tahoe has the most detailed parking program in the region, so it is worth planning this one before you leave home.
When do you need a Palisades parking reservation?
Palisades requires reservations before 1 p.m. on the following 2026-27 dates:
- December 5-6, 12-13, and 19-31, 2026
- January 1-3, 9-10, 16-18, 23-24, and 30-31, 2027
- February 6-7, 13-21, and 27-28, 2027
- March 6-7, 13-14, 20-21, and 27-28, 2027
- April 3-4 and 10-11, 2027
The reservation applies to all parking lots. You can make one reservation per day at one designated base area.
If you are skiing Monday through Friday on a non-holiday, parking is free and you do not need a reservation. On the listed busy dates, parking becomes free without a reservation after 1 p.m., but only when spaces are available.
When are free Palisades parking reservations released?
Free reservations for the upcoming weekend or holiday period are released every Tuesday at 12 p.m. and 7 p.m. If you are planning a Saturday or Sunday ski day, set a reminder and book as soon as the reservation window opens.
Most reservation-required spaces are free. Palisades also lists a limited number of advance paid reservations at $30 per car per day on Saturdays, Sundays, and select holiday periods from December 5, 2026, through April 11, 2027.
The resort’s current FAQ does not give a specific cancellation or refund window. If you choose a paid space, read the terms shown at checkout before you complete the booking.
How can you avoid parking at Palisades?
Palisades lists several alternatives to driving directly to the resort, including Park and Ride options from Truckee and Tahoe City, drop-off areas, TART Connect, Mountaineer service within Olympic Valley and Alpine Meadows, and the Sports Basement Ski Bus.
The resort’s travel page includes detailed shuttle information from the previous 2025-26 season. Since a full 2026-27 schedule was not posted when this guide was checked, confirm service times before you travel.
For more help planning your day, read our guide to the Palisades Tahoe ski resort.
What Should You Know About Northstar Parking?
Northstar has announced that RESERVE ‘N SKI parking reservations will be required beginning Saturday, December 12, 2026.
That is the important date to know right now. The current notice does not yet explain which lots will require reservations, what hours will apply, how much parking will cost, or how the reservation process will work.
Northstar’s older information describes areas such as Castle Peak, Village View, and Preferred Paid parking. Those details are identified as 2025-26 information, so do not assume the same prices or time limits will carry into 2026-27. The older pages also show conflicting cutoff times for some areas.
Before driving to Northstar, check Park Northstar for the latest policy. If you are staying in the Village, walking to the lifts may be easier than moving your car each morning.
Northstar has also offered resort shuttles and TART connections in the past, although a 2026-27 schedule was not posted in the information available for this guide.
Welcome to California sign, Heavenly resort, Lake Tahoe” by JMatazzoni, licensed under CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons.
Does Heavenly Require Parking Reservations?
No.
Heavenly’s official 2026-27 parking statement says reservations are no longer needed for the season.
The resort lists parking at California Main Lodge, Boulder Lodge, and Stagecoach Lodge, but a complete 2026-27 breakdown of lot fees, peak-period rules, and free-after times has not been posted.
Heavenly generally describes a free shuttle between California Lodge and Heavenly Village. If you are staying near the Village, leaving your car at your lodging and using the village connection can be easier than moving your vehicle during the day.
For more South Shore planning ideas, see our guide to the best South Lake Tahoe ski resorts.
What Are the Kirkwood Parking Rules?
Kirkwood’s official resort homepage says reservations are required for any lot on weekends and peak periods during the 2026-27 season.
The resort has not yet published a complete 2026-27 list of peak dates, fees, free-lot rules, or the exact reservation cutoff. The resort pages and Park Kirkwood portal also show different cutoff times in places, with older information referring to either 11:30 a.m. or noon.
For now, check the official Park Kirkwood page before heading up from South Lake Tahoe. Last year’s $20 reservation price and carpool rules should not be assumed for this season.
Kirkwood describes a base-area shuttle, but a confirmed 2026-27 schedule was not available. Allow extra time for winter roads, especially if you are driving from South Lake Tahoe after a storm.
How Does Sierra-at-Tahoe Parking Work?
Sierra-at-Tahoe requires reservations from 7 a.m. to noon on listed Saturdays, Sundays, and holiday periods from December 19, 2026, through April 4, 2027. The calendar includes the Christmas and New Year’s period, Martin Luther King Jr. weekend, Presidents’ Day periods, and several weekends later in the season.
General reservations cost $25 per day for non-Sierra passholders or vehicles with three or fewer occupants. Sierra passholders can receive up to four free active reservations on valid pass days. Vehicles with four or more occupants can also qualify for free reservations under the resort’s carpool rules.
After noon on reservation days, parking is free without a reservation when space is available. A reservation gives you access to the parking area, not a particular stall.
The official parking FAQ says changes and cancellations are allowed until 8 a.m. on the reservation day. Later reservations are non-refundable, and no-shows may face penalties. The reservation system was scheduled to open October 21, 2026, at 10 a.m. Pacific time.
Sierra-at-Tahoe does not provide a shuttle or bus from downtown South Lake Tahoe. The resort’s FAQ does mention a round-trip Bay Area shuttle operated with Sports Basement.
Is Sugar Bowl Parking Free?
Yes.
Sugar Bowl does not require a general parking reservation, and its Main Lodge lots are free and first-come, first-served.
On weekends and holiday periods, limited Upper Lot parking is available for $35. You can reserve this paid option online, but you do not need to buy it if you are using the free parking areas.
Vehicles with four or more passengers may park free in the Upper Lot on weekends and holidays, subject to the resort’s posted rules. Sugar Bowl also lists a free shuttle from the parking lot to the base area on weekends and holidays.
The resort’s 2026-27 pass materials list a $799 Preferred Parking season-pass add-on. The official pages differ on whether reserved spaces are held until 11:30 a.m. or noon, and neither says that those spaces become free after the hold time.
Is Parking Free at Mt. Rose?
Mt. Rose is one of the easiest Tahoe resorts for parking. Its current snow report, updated October 13, 2026, says “ALWAYS FREE PARKING.”
The resort’s general mountain information page also says parking is first-come, first-served and that guests may not reserve parking for other vehicles. Mt. Rose does not offer a shuttle from Reno, according to its Getting Here page.
Free parking does not guarantee an open space, so arrive early on a storm day or during a busy holiday period.
What Is Diamond Peak Parking Like?
Diamond Peak offers free general parking and optional paid preferred parking on select weekends and holidays.
The posted rates are $30 on weekends and $35 during peak periods, although another section of the resort’s page describes the $35 rate specifically for holidays. The 2026-27 peak periods listed by the resort are December 19, 2026, through January 3, 2027, January 16-18, 2027, and February 13-21, 2027.
Preferred parking reservations are for a standard-sized vehicle in the lower paid lot. The resort holds the space until noon. After that, someone else may purchase the space if it is still available. The resort does not say that the space becomes free after noon.
Diamond Peak also describes a free community ski shuttle in Incline Village and shuttle service from overflow lots on the busiest days. Check the resort before your trip because the posted shuttle information was not specifically identified as a 2026-27 schedule.
How Can You Avoid Lake Tahoe Ski Resort Parking?
You do not always need to drive right up to the base lodge. Depending on where you are staying, one of these options may be easier.
Stay Close Enough to Walk
A stay in or near a ski village can save you from dealing with the lot altogether. At Palisades, Northstar, and Heavenly, lodging near the village or base area can put you within walking distance of the lifts, restaurants, and après-ski spots.
Village lodging often costs more, but compare the room rate with parking fees, fuel, and the time you would otherwise spend driving and waiting for a shuttle.
Fill the Car
Carpool rules vary, but Sierra-at-Tahoe offers free reservations for qualifying vehicles with four or more occupants. Palisades also lists carpooling as a way to reduce parking pressure. Sugar Bowl and other resorts may offer similar benefits, so check the current policy for your destination before assuming you qualify.
Take a Resort Shuttle
Sugar Bowl, Heavenly, Diamond Peak, and Kirkwood describe resort shuttle options. Palisades lists Park and Ride services and local transportation choices, including TART Connect and Mountaineer service within the Olympic Valley and Alpine Meadows areas.
Schedules can change between seasons. Check the resort’s transportation page before leaving, especially if you are skiing during Christmas, Martin Luther King Jr. weekend, or Presidents’ Day weekend.
Use TART and Local Transit
TART serves North Lake Tahoe and connects communities such as Truckee, Tahoe City, Kings Beach, and Olympic Valley. Some resort shuttles connect with TART routes, and Palisades lists TART Connect among its transportation options.
Our guide to free rides around Lake Tahoe has more ideas for getting around without driving every day.
Arrive Before the Rush
On a powder day, even a free lot can fill quickly. Aim to arrive before the lifts open, leave extra time for winter traffic and chain controls, and keep your parking confirmation saved on your phone.
How Should You Plan for Holiday Weekend Parking?
Christmas, Martin Luther King Jr. weekend, and Presidents’ Day weekend are some of the busiest times to ski around Lake Tahoe. The roads are busier, the lots fill earlier, and parking rules are more likely to apply.
Book as soon as your resort releases its inventory. At Palisades, set a reminder for Tuesday at noon and 7 p.m. At Sierra-at-Tahoe, check the reservation calendar and book before the morning reservation window begins.
On a storm day, arrive with enough time to drive slowly, put on chains if required, find the correct lot, and walk or take a shuttle to the base area. If you can adjust your schedule, a non-holiday weekday is usually easier. Palisades says non-holiday weekday parking is free without a reservation, and midweek traffic is generally lighter across the Tahoe region.
The day before your trip, check the official parking page, mountain report, road conditions, and shuttle schedule. Northstar, Kirkwood, Heavenly, and Diamond Peak have not all posted complete 2026-27 details, and older resort pages may show rates or cutoff times that have changed.
FAQs
Does Palisades Tahoe require a parking reservation every day?
No. Reservations are required before 1 p.m. on the listed 2026-27 weekends and holiday periods. Non-holiday weekday parking is free without a reservation, and parking after 1 p.m. on listed busy dates is free without a reservation when space is available.
When are free Palisades parking reservations released?
Free reservations for the upcoming weekend or holiday period are released on Tuesdays at noon and 7 p.m.
How much does parking cost at Palisades Tahoe?
A limited number of advance paid reservations cost $30 per car per day on Saturdays, Sundays, and select holiday periods. Most reservation-required spaces are free with a reservation.
Do Northstar parking reservations begin in December 2026?
Yes. Park Northstar states that RESERVE ‘N SKI reservations are required beginning December 12, 2026. The current notice does not yet specify which lots, dates, hours, or rates are covered.
Does Heavenly require parking reservations for 2026-27?
No. Heavenly’s official 2026-27 parking statement says reservations are no longer needed. Complete current-season lot fees and peak-period details have not been posted on the pages reviewed.
Is Sierra-at-Tahoe parking free?
Some reservations are free for eligible Sierra passholders and vehicles with four or more occupants. General reservations cost $25 per day. After noon on listed reservation days, parking is free without a reservation when space is available.
Does Sugar Bowl require a parking reservation?
No general reservation is required. Sugar Bowl offers free Main Lodge parking and optional paid Upper Lot parking on weekends and holiday periods.
Is parking free at Mt. Rose?
Yes. Mt. Rose’s current snow report says parking is always free. Parking is first-come, first-served, so arriving early is still a good idea on busy snow days.
Can you reserve parking at Diamond Peak?
Yes. Diamond Peak offers optional paid preferred parking on select weekends and holidays. General parking is free, and no general parking reservation is required.