If you are planning a winter day of sledding, snowshoeing, cross-country skiing, or simply playing in the snow around Lake Tahoe, there is one small detail you should take care of before you leave home: your parking permit.
At a California SNO-Park, every vehicle needs a permit from November 1 through May 30. For the 2026-27 season, California State Parks lists the cost at $15 for a day permit or $40 for a season permit. Permits are expected to be available around October 2026. Alway check California State Parks website for the latest pricing and other details.
Quick answer: Buy one California SNO-Park permit for each car parked at a SNO-Park lot during the winter permit season. The permit works at any of California’s 18 SNO-Parks, not just one particular location. You can buy it online or from a local vendor, but remember to display it on the left side of your dashboard where it is visible from outside the car.
A permit does not reserve a parking space. SNO-Park lots are first-come, first-served, and they can fill up quickly on powder days, weekends, and school holidays. They may also close temporarily for snow removal, bad weather, or avalanche-control operations.
So, before you load the sleds into the car, let’s look at where you can park, which SNO-Park is closest to your destination, and what you need to know for a safe day in the snow.
Top Lake Tahoe Winter Sports to Try
Do You Need a Sno-Park Permit at Lake Tahoe?
Yes, if you park at a designated California SNO-Park between November 1 and May 30. The rule applies whether you are cross-country skiing, snowshoeing, sledding, dog sledding, walking your dog, or just leaving your vehicle while you explore the area.
The permit is required for the vehicle, not for each person. In other words, one permit covers everyone arriving in that car. If your group drives two cars, both cars need their own permits.
For the 2026-27 season, the listed fees are:
- Day permit: $15 for one day
- Season permit: $40 for the full season
If this is your only snow day in Tahoe, a day permit may be all you need. However, if you live nearby or plan to return several times, the season permit can be handy because it works at every California SNO-Park.
It is also worth remembering that not every snow-play destination around Lake Tahoe is a SNO-Park. Private tubing parks, ski resorts, ordinary Forest Service trailheads, and Nevada recreation sites may have completely different parking rules.
Which Sno-Parks Are Closest to Lake Tahoe?
California has 18 SNO-Parks, but you probably do not need to know all of them for a Lake Tahoe vacation. The locations below are the most useful ones to keep in mind for the South Shore, West Shore, North Shore, Truckee area, Carson Pass, and Hope Valley.
| SNO-Park | Road or highway | Best for | Snowmobiles according to the official site |
|---|---|---|---|
| Taylor Creek | Highway 89, just north of Camp Richardson Road | Cross-country skiing, dog sledding, and snow play on the South Shore | Not stated on the official site |
| Echo Lake | Highway 50 at Echo Lake Road | Cross-country skiing, dog sledding, and snow play | No snowmobiles |
| Blackwood Canyon | Highway 89, three miles south of Tahoe City | Cross-country skiing, dog sledding, and snow play near the West Shore | Not stated on the official site |
| Donner Summit | I-80 at the Castle Peak exit, beyond Boreal Inn | Cross-country skiing, dog sledding, and snow play near Truckee | Not stated on the official site |
| Carson Pass | Highway 88 at Carson Pass | Cross-country skiing, dog sledding, and snow play | No snowmobiles |
| Meiss Meadow | Highway 88 near Carson Pass | Cross-country skiing, dog sledding, and snow play | No snowmobiles |
| Hope Valley | Highway 88 at Blue Lakes Road | Cross-country skiing, dog sledding, and snowmobiling | Yes, listed as a recommended activity |
The phrase “not stated” is important here. It does not mean snowmobiles are automatically allowed or prohibited. Always check signs, current Forest Service restrictions, and local conditions before bringing a snowmobile.
How Do You Buy a California Sno-Park Permit?
You can buy a California SNO-Park permit online, by mail, or from an official vendor. For most visitors, buying online before leaving home is the simplest option. Visit the California State Parks purchase page before your trip.
The official vendor list includes businesses in South Lake Tahoe, Tahoe City, Truckee, Olympic Valley, Kings Beach, Hope Valley, Carson City, and other nearby communities. Because vendor stock and business hours can change, call ahead before making a special trip.
The posted vendor list includes examples such as:
- Alpenglow Sports in Tahoe City
- Tahoe Dave’s locations in Tahoe City, Kings Beach, Olympic Valley, and Truckee
- Tahoe Bike & Ski and Tahoe Gear Exchange in South Lake Tahoe
- Mountain Hardware and Sports in Truckee
- Desolation Hotel Hope Valley in Markleeville
- Carson Ranger Station in Carson City
The current state vendor page identifies itself as the 2025-26 list, so use those businesses as helpful examples rather than a guarantee for the entire 2026-27 season. You can check the official vendor list for updates.
After Buying It, Where Should You Display the Permit?
Place the SNO-Park permit on the left side of your vehicle’s dashboard, where it can be clearly seen from outside.
Do not leave it in the glove box, tuck it beneath a pile of winter gear, or assume that showing an online receipt is enough. The permit needs to be displayed properly while the vehicle is parked.
Online purchases include a $1.95 service fee per permit. California State Parks also says that permits are non-refundable and day permits cannot be transferred to a different date.
What Are the Sno-Park Parking Rules?
A permit allows you to park at a designated SNO-Park, but it does not guarantee that the lot will be open, plowed, or available when you arrive. On a busy snow day, having a permit does not prevent the lot from filling before you get there.
Here are the rules I would keep in mind before driving up:
- Park only in the designated SNO-Park lot. Do not park on entry roads or block gates, plows, emergency access, or traffic lanes.
- Arrive early on weekends and holidays. Parking is first-come, first-served, and you do not receive a refund simply because your preferred lot is full.
- Do not leave your vehicle overnight during snow removal. Several SNO-Park pages ask visitors not to park overnight or camp while plowing is taking place.
- Watch for site-specific exceptions. Donner Summit allows overnight parking for trail users, but only as unoccupied vehicle parking. Camping and sleeping in the car are not allowed.
- Follow closure signs. A lot may close because of snow removal, unsafe conditions, or avalanche-control operations.
- Do not substitute another State Park pass. California State Parks says other State Park passes are not valid at SNO-Parks.
If you park without a properly displayed permit, the official permit page lists a minimum fine of $94.50. That is a frustrating way to begin a snow day, especially when the permit itself costs much less than the ticket.
Before you leave, check Caltrans road conditions and the California Highway Information Network, especially if you are traveling over Echo Summit, Donner Summit, or Highway 88.
What Is Different at Tahoe Meadows?
Tahoe Meadows is a popular winter recreation area on the Nevada side of Lake Tahoe, but it is not one of California’s 18 SNO-Parks.
The Tahoe Meadows Trailhead is off Mt. Rose Highway, also known as NV-431. The Forest Service page says the trailhead is open 24 hours a day, has restrooms, and does not require a fee. It lists cross-country skiing and snowshoeing among the winter recreation opportunities.
The Carson Ranger District also says people visit Tahoe Meadows for snowmobiling and sledding. Because it is a separate Forest Service site in Nevada, do not assume California’s SNO-Park permit is the parking requirement there. Instead, check the latest Humboldt-Toiyabe National Forest information and road conditions before you go.
The drive up Mt. Rose Highway can be snowy and windy. Never park along the highway or in a way that blocks access. Also, a site being open year-round does not mean the mountain road will be safe or easy to drive on the day of your visit.
How Can You Stay Safe at a Tahoe Sno-Park?
A sunny morning can turn into a snowy afternoon very quickly in the Sierra. Before heading out, check the weather and avalanche conditions, tell someone where you are going, and travel with a buddy if you are venturing beyond a developed parking area.
The Lake Tahoe Basin Management Unit recommends checking current conditions, carrying appropriate equipment and training for backcountry travel, and remembering that cell service may not work in remote areas.
Before you leave, check:
- The weather forecast and wind conditions
- Sierra Avalanche Center advisories
- Road conditions and chain controls
- Whether the SNO-Park is open, plowed, or temporarily closed
- Your route, expected return time, and backup plan if the lot is full
Dress in waterproof layers and wear waterproof boots. California State Parks recommends avoiding cotton, protecting your head and hands, using sunscreen and eye protection, and bringing water, food, navigation tools, a spare phone charger, matches or a lighter, and a flashlight. See the state’s winter safety guidance for more details.
Most importantly, do not assume that a flat parking lot means every trail beyond it is safe. Stay within your ability, respect avalanche closures, and keep away from heavy equipment. Backcountry travel requires the right knowledge, equipment, and training.
If you are visiting with children, pack extra gloves and socks. Wet clothing can turn a fun snow day into a miserable one surprisingly fast.
For another family-friendly winter outing, take a look at our guide to snowshoeing in South Lake Tahoe.
FAQs
Do I need a Sno-Park permit for every car?
Yes. California requires a day or season SNO-Park permit for each vehicle parked at a SNO-Park site from November 1 through May 30.
How much does a California Sno-Park permit cost?
The current listed fees are $15 for a day permit and $40 for a season permit. Check the state’s purchase page before your trip in case the fees change.
Can I use one Sno-Park permit at different Lake Tahoe locations?
Yes. California SNO-Park permits are not site-specific and are valid at any of the state’s 18 SNO-Parks.
Where should I put my Sno-Park permit?
Display it on the left side of your vehicle’s dashboard, where it can be clearly seen from outside. Keeping it in your glove box does not meet the official display instruction.
Can I park overnight at a Lake Tahoe Sno-Park?
Rules vary by location, but several sites ask visitors not to leave vehicles overnight during snow-removal conditions. Donner Summit allows overnight parking for trail users only, but camping and sleeping in the vehicle are not allowed.
Do I need a California Sno-Park permit at Tahoe Meadows?
Tahoe Meadows is a separate Forest Service trailhead on the Nevada side of Lake Tahoe, not a California SNO-Park. The Forest Service page says no fees are required at that site, but check current conditions and road information before visiting.